You are viewing IC as Guest    
Why not the site? It's free!
   
If you're already a member, it's better if you

Help - virus???? (8)

Obbligato's profile

Posted by Obbligato on Tue 22 Nov 05, 11:57 AM to Obbligato's blog.

I've just recieved three e-mails from www.yahoogroups.com with an enclosed zip file.

Having never had these before, or not asking for anything and it's listed 'your password', i'm more than a little skeptical of opening it. Plus I think the website isnt yahoo cos its normally groups.yahoo.com or something like that. (Really must stop these blonde!!)

Has anyone else prior experience of this at all...

Nephri

Replies

22 Nov 05, 12:00 PM
Sweetiejar
UK(S), 11 yrs
I would just delete it darling,

xxxxxxxx

Sweetiejar
Ooops!!!!!!
The more you sweat in practice...the less you bleed in battle.
www.chesterfieldconclave.co.uk

22 Nov 05, 12:03 PM
soy_yo
ES, 6 yrs
Nephri wrote:
I've just recieved three e-mails from www.yahoogroups.com with an enclosed zip file.

Having never had these before, or not asking for anything and it's listed 'your password', i'm more than a little skeptical of opening it. Plus I think the website isnt yahoo cos its normally groups.yahoo.com or something like that. (Really must stop these blonde!!)

Has anyone else prior experience of this at all...

Nephri

bin it

22 Nov 05, 12:04 PM
x_zero_x
UK(DD), 10 yrs

Nephri wrote:
I've just recieved three e-mails from www.yahoogroups.com with an enclosed zip file.

Having never had these before, or not asking for anything and it's listed 'your password', i'm more than a little skeptical of opening it. Plus I think the website isnt yahoo cos its normally groups.yahoo.com or something like that. (Really must stop these blonde!!)

Has anyone else prior experience of this at all...

Nephri

if you click on the www.yahoogroups.com it takes you to groups.yahoo.com. The emails are likely just to be passwords for groups you have signed up to.

put these chains on me
make me feel i'm alive

22 Nov 05, 12:06 PM
Skylon
UK(BS), 8 yrs

Nephri wrote:
I've just recieved three e-mails from www.yahoogroups.com with an enclosed zip file.

Having never had these before, or not asking for anything and it's listed 'your password', i'm more than a little skeptical of opening it. Plus I think the website isnt yahoo cos its normally groups.yahoo.com or something like that. (Really must stop these blonde!!)

Has anyone else prior experience of this at all...

Nephri

Hi there

Yeah these are viruses - err virii?

They are packed up into zip files so that any anti virus software at the server end won't pick them up. They only activate when you open them. If you get attachments from someone you don't know then they're almost guaranteed to be viruses. The more important or enticing the mail seems to be the more likely it is to be a virus. Delete them without opening them or scan them with an antivirus program.

If you need a free anti virus prog go to grisoft.com and get AVG it's been keeping my pc safe for years

Take it easy

Marc

22 Nov 05, 12:07 PM
Obbligato
11 yrs
got the feeling it was something like that.

Binned without opening them.

Cheers folks

Nephri

www.chesterfieldconclave.co.uk (back in business)

22 Nov 05, 12:07 PM
x_zero_x
UK(DD), 10 yrs

Ah, glad i know myself now!

put these chains on me
make me feel i'm alive

22 Nov 05, 12:43 PM
LostProperty
UK(CW), 11 yrs

Nephri wrote:

Having never had these before, or not asking for anything and it's listed 'your password', i'm more than a little skeptical of opening it. Plus I think the website isnt yahoo cos its normally groups.yahoo.com or something like that. (Really must stop these blonde!!)

If you think it looks suspect then just delete it.

Might be worth downloading current live updates for your antivirus software for peace of mind. Whilst having latest updates should stop the majority of virus's getting onto your machine, its not just virus's you need to look out for - you should also consider protecting yourself again spyware.

If you don't already i'd recommend Spybot Search and Destroy which is good and also Spyware Doctor. In fact, i'd recommend having both of them and scanning every couple of weeks or so.

Hope that helps xx

ps. For both above programmes you can get them free, just type them into Google and you'll get loads of options on where to download from.

------X Exquisite Humility X-------

23 Nov 05, 12:35 PM
blonde
UK(LS), 8 yrs
Nephri wrote:
(Really must stop these blonde!!)

Nephri

Why should I stop?

xx Blonde xx

This is the standard version
©1997-2012 Informed Consent
UK map

UK Map

UK listings
Clubs
Munches
Groups
Dungeon Hire
Services
Kink-friendly
Shops
Other countries
Dictionary
BDSM
Fetish
Top
Bottom
Bondage
Dominant
Submissive
RACK vs SSC
Top Pictures
Rate the pictures

Top BDSM Books
The Story of O
Showing you the Ropes
Female Domination
The Ethical Slut
The Human Pony

More sites
IC's advertisers
BDSM Rights
Kink.com
Kink Podcasts
The Slave Register
Ownership & Possession

Help & About IC