| Jezzebelle |
If someone tries to sell you a vehicle on line and offers to use Yahoo Finance as a secure go between do not proceed it's a big hoax, Yahoo do not offer this service. The seller will send you a link to the site which exists but offers very little information and unless you have the link you can not access the site any other way. The car being sold will be a good offer and will involve being imported back into the UK or which ever country you live in.
We've checked into it as the offer was too good to be true and are informing the appropriate people/authorities.
Please circulate this warning or just let your mates know.
| 28 Jan 12, 9:12 PM Badg1Vo UK(B), 6 yrs |
Yahoo Finance exists, but as a finance news website (with a "personal finance" advice section), so, it sounds plausible but I share your concerns. There were previously reports on the Consumer Action Group website of a ploy where people lost money where a car for import existed OK, but the fees for transporting the car went to a third party, who then didn't deliver ..... and the seller was able to show they had discharged their responsibilities by passing the car on to the delivery company paid for by the buyer and the seller then refers all queries to the delivery company saying "I did suggest them as an option, but you arranged it with them, and it was your choice to use them, you could have used whoever you chose to arrange it with, and I passed the car on to your agents in good faith" | ||
| 28 Jan 12, 10:08 PM Jezzebelle UK, 10 yrs |
This one says that the shipping of the vehicle is included in the price and that if you decide you don't want the vehicle they will pay costs for it's return. http://www.flickr.com/photos/jezzebelle/ | ||
| 28 Jan 12, 10:19 PM paulss UK(NR), 8 yrs |
Remember the old adage, if an offer sounds too good to be true it is (too good to be true that is!) Always a good way of spotting a potential scam. | ||
| 28 Jan 12, 10:42 PM Jezzebelle UK, 10 yrs |
That's why we did the research http://www.flickr.com/photos/jezzebelle/ | ||
| 28 Jan 12, 10:57 PM sub55y UK(HA), 15 mths |
If buying a vehicle from overseas only use a trusted source as well as shipping taxes will need to be payed at port of entry and the vehicle specifications will differ from u.k.models even though they may look the same and may need modifying before you can tax and insure them.You need to factor in the extra costs to see if its worth doing. | ||
| 29 Jan 12, 10:25 AM Jezzebelle UK, 10 yrs |
This was a UK model that had allegedly been shipped to Portugal by it's 'owner' and was being shipped back again as he had moved back to the UK. He said it was in Portimao, it was quite amusing watching him dodge the question in the email when we asked if our friend who lives there could go round and check it out. He had VIN and chassis no's too, but obviously didn't own the vehicle. http://www.flickr.com/photos/jezzebelle/ | ||
| 29 Jan 12, 3:39 PM sub55y UK(HA), 15 mths |
A case for watchdog i think,known as Bruce huge german shepherd with a lovely set of teeth that used to handle any warranty claims at a local garage! |